Skip to content
March 8, 2012 / mybodynbalance

MY Motivation…

I walked into the locker room at the gym the other day and as I walked over to the lockers, a woman was sitting down a few feet away looking a bit defeated. It was just the two of us, but I was completely in a world of my own…. getting in the mindset to train. From the minute I walk through the gym door, I am focused and usually keep to myself. If I stop and chat, it throws off my focus.

As I put my gym bag into my locker that woman who was sitting a few feet away, complimented me on my arms and shoulders… I smiled and thanked her. She then asked me on how I stay motivated. When she asked me that 100 things ran thru my mind. I glanced over and could see the look on her face. She was clearly “stuck”. I explained to her that training was a part of my job, and is important that I “look the part”. I knew that she wouldn’t be able to really understand that to it’s fullest extent, so I went on to explain to her how my motivation has changed over the years. What motivated me initially to work out (becoming a firefighter) was no longer the same reason that kept me training, but now that I own BODY N BALANCE I have a whole set of new reasons.

As life goes on needs change in and out of the gym. For example, let’s say you start working out because you were motivated by the pain of a break up. You wanted to get in shape, so that he could see exactly what he was missing. As time goes by that same anger that made you get up at 6:00 AM starts to lessen. Maybe you got over him and it just doesn’t seem so “urgent” to workout. When the alarm goes off you realize that you don’t want to go and there is no way you are getting out of bed that freaking early!!

What happened??

Lack of motivation is what happened. You feel stuck (just like the lady in the locker room) The motivation you once had simply fades. It’s time to rediscover another reason to get out of bed that early. The new motivation, just as the old one works best when it is extremely specific. The goal of “getting in shape” simply won’t do it. It’s too basic.

I suggest finding out what moves you inside. Choose a specific goal, and make it happen! I admit that just thinking of the fat on my legs does get me packing my gym bag and when I want to stay in bed or skip cardio, I just look at myself in the mirror in my bathing suit. That is a perfect example of a quick fix. BUT IT WORKS!

Taking it a bit deeper may bring you better results as well. Make the need huge! I am personally motivated by fear. I am fearful of losing what I have worked so hard for and I won’t give up on myself. The feeling of defeat is something I won’t deal with. My intensity comes from feeling like a day with no workout, or a “bad” workout is a wasted day… a day I will never get back.

Yep, and it’s huge and real. That is why I work as hard as I do. I am hard on others and I am hard on myself. My strong training ethic is part of building my sense of self worth. I put my heart and soul into what I do. I share my struggles & my victories so that I can somehow help someone else on their fitness journey. I will never stop reaching for more because I wholeheartedly want to be a better version of myself. Even if I fail I am trying like hell, because... Average isn’t allowed, and less than average, doesn’t exist in my world.

~Lisa

Leave a Reply

